Exclusive Interview of RGV on Sarkar Raj


First posted on PFC

Recently Sarkar Raj got released. Historically, the Hindi film-goers community were divided into the one’s who think Gunda is an epic and other’s who think Gunda is a larger than life classic. But now a new division has crept into the ranks. People are now divided on whether Sarkar Raj will be the last torture to inflicted by RGV and others who think that RGV‘s worst is yet to come. To clear the air, PFC TV (People Featured in Colour TeleVision) cornered Ramu for an interview. If you’ve never heard of PFC TV don’t fret. The number of people who have heard of the said channel is less than or equal to the number of people who loved Jimmy. Here is the transcript of the interview:

PFC TV: To start off with, how did you get the idea of Sarkar Raj. What was the genesis of it.

Rgv: See, I have a Door Dhristi vision. I ignore the nazdheek ka galti and look at the door ka fayada. I knew that Aag was going to be either a big hit or a massive flop. So to play safe I had to follow it up with a movie that would be a guaranteed success. The easiest way to do that was to revive my Sarkar franchise and mint lot of money.

PFC TV: Interesting. So did you dip into the pages of Godfather Part 2 for Sarkar Raj.

RGV: No, no.. There was a lot of material in Godfather itself that was remaining to be told. For instance, I borrowed the scene of a car bomb explosion of Apollonia that affects Michael Corleone in a personal manner.

I always believe in going back to one’s roots. I don’t know if you’re aware but there was a film made by me in another dimension. It was called Shiva and it had a song that debated on the virtues of a Botany class. I remembered that song and wrote a few dialogues about plant and its requirement of money etc.

Essentially I ran through the Sarkar sequence of events as well. By recycling the same stuff made my producers confident and they loosened their purse-strings much easily.

PFC TV: Speaking of producers, there are a lot of them around. Was it because it was a big budget film?

RGV: No, no, it’s not big-budget in the traditional sense. Its big-budget in the sense no producer in his right mind was willing to risk more than 4-5 cr with me. So, I had to go with multiple producers you see.

PFC TV: I see (not really seeing anything but getting more and more bewildered). Tell me about the actors. Abhishek Bachchan has the main role in the movie this time and he seems to have delivered a commendable performance. But he always maintains a lost, far seeing look in every frame of the movie. How did you manage to extract the same look every time he comes into the picture?

RGV (smiling one of his inscrutable smiles): Glad you noticed that. You see, a director’s role is not limited to just see the actors reach the sets and that the entire unit works in a cohesive manner. It’s the attention details and the attention that he pays finer things in a movie that sets him apart. I knew the moment I conceived his character in Sarkar Raj, that he had to have a distinct look that he himself wouldn’t be able to replicate in his future films even if he wants to. I achieved it by making him watch portions of Aag just before each and every shoot. And viola, he had the look of one who just fell down a mountain after being hit by a 100 Ton truck while being pissed drunk.

PFC TV: Ohh-kaay. How about the others, how was it in working with Aishwaya Rai for the first time.

RGV: It was a revelation to me. I had heard of the term ‘conveying emotions and thoughts through the eyes’. She taught me the value of silence. She taught me that if I give her fewer dialogues to speak, the less are the chances of her botching up the scene.

PFC TV: On another note, you have been neglecting your favorite genre of horror stories for quite sometime haven’t you?

RGV: What are you saying. The extremely close close-up of Chander in the movie didn’t just happen because the cameraman tripped on his shoelaces. It was placed to scare the bejesus out of every living soul.

PFC TV: (in shivers at the recollection) Touché. The story of Sarkar Raj was quite complex, with a lot of characters and a lot of politics involved. How did you manage to cram it all up in just 2 hours of running time.

RGV: Yes, I was difficulty in showing everything together. The cost was spiraling and the unit and the cast and the producers were losing faith in me as time was passing. I couldn’t shoot everything and I had to make an instant decision. Luckily I got inspiration from Harry Potter.

PFC TV: What? I am sorry to interrupt but somethings wrong with my ears. It sounded like you said that you got inspiration from Harry Potter.

RGV: Yes you heard it right. You see, in one of the books, towards the end, one of the chaps called Dumbledoremakes a long winded speech to Harry wherein he explains to Harry what actually happened to all the characters and what all events took place. Reading that I got the idea that instead of showing everything and blowing up more and more money it would be simpler to make Bachchan Sir give all explanation in one go. I think it worked like a charm. In fact, I’ll make one movie in the future where only Bachchan Sir will be there and he’ll narrate the entire story from start to finish

PFC TV: (muttering to himself, ‘No wonder he was sounding like DumbleBORE‘) In Sarkar, it was perhaps the first time that you had a lot of awkward camera angles and movements not to mention some of those extreme close-ups. But there was nothing revolutionary or nothing new in Sarkar Raj?

RGV: Who told you that? You reporter people don’t pick up the finer nuances of film-making. In the scenes that Bachchan Sir was giving his speech, both my cinematographer and my editor had gone off to sleep. Tell me has anyone else attempted that before? In fact I told Bachchan Sir that even if you’ll forget your lines, don’t worry sir, the camera will go on till you remember them and no one will yell ‘cut’. That’s why he sometimes seemed like competing with Atalji as far as pauses were concerned.

PFC TV (Jokingly): Thank god you didn’t decide to make a scene with the entire crew asleep.

RGV: I’ve already made a movie using that technique. It’s called RGV Ki Aag.

PFC TV (now making a Ants-in-pant-squirm): Ahem, let’s talk about your future projects shall we. Like Sarkar, you have left an open door for a sequel in this movie also right.

RGV: Yes, I did that. But this time I have become wiser. I’ve made scope for two different types of movies. I am not sure what kind of funding will I get in the future. If I have funds only for a low budget movie then I’ll make a movie with new actors and call it ‘Chikku Raj‘. If I have ample funding then I’ll go ahead and make a big budget movie called ‘Ek Sarkar Thi‘. Off course I’ll make that movie only after I finish my biggest and most ambitious project ever. It’s called RGV Ki Chain.

PFC TV: Chain as in ‘rest’? You mean a movie on RnR?

RGV: No, no chain as in angrezi Chain. It’s a remake. The movie’s about an honest and an upright police officer who has recurring nightmare about his father’s death. He is aided on his historical journey by a pathan who’ll be played by Bachchan Sir himself. It will also have a killer item song picturised on one of the characters who is a knife sharpener and it will also have a villain who will be more ferocious that Babban oops Gabbar himself.

(The reporter faints on imagining the repercussion of this and had to be immediately admitted to an ICU ward.)

Tip: if you really really want to watch Sarkar Raj and enjoy it as well, then pl get a DVD and watch it on mute with subtitles on and forward button handy. You may then enjoy the movie.

Tip2: Any resemblance to any real life place, animal, thing or person in the above interview is a sheer co-incidence.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

